The Royal Krunk Jazz Orkestra

“Egyptologists” and most “historians” have for many years purposely hidden, stolen, laid claim to, and falsified the clear evidence that thousands of years ago the Nubian and Kemetic people and cultural systems populated every land mass on earth, and built monuments that stand to this day even as other cultures and people lay claim to their origin. 

This Suite is dedicated to the ancient African Pyramid builders, who’s magnificent monuments have defied time to reveal the truth of the origins of people, science, mathematics, art, engineering, navigation, music, religion, and subsequent cultures.

My name is Mtafuta Ukweli and I seek truth.  – Russell Gunn

These are excerpts from the liner notes of the new project from The Royal Krunk Jazz Orkestra, immediately signaling that Russell Gunn has arrived at a profound sense of history and purpose with the creation of this recording, titled Pyramids. While the signature sound of this ensemble is clearly similar to the 2018 release Get It How You Live, the scope and power of the project is evident from the epic lift in the first track. It is clear we are in the process of a grand story in orchestral style, with all musical parts of the African Diaspora retelling the story of the (African) Egyptian Kings in proper glory. 

Russell describes Pyramids as the second in a trilogy that began with 2016’s The Sirius Mystery. The Orkestra has clearly benefitted from persistent collaboration in a live setting, and the message is tailored and refined. At 33 minutes in length (though it feels much longer), Pyramids captures the listener’s attention and holds it straight through, feeling like one extended cinematic piece. Dionne Farris shines with soaring vocals, while Terreon Gully and Lil John Roberts drum on separate channels. It is clear the vision is extraordinary, and the attention to orchestral detail is at a high point. 



Release Date: August 30, 2019

Digital Cover.png

Russell Gunn – Composer, Arranger, Conductor
Eric Fontaine – Baritone Saxophone
Fareed Mahluli – Tenor Saxophone
Mike Walton – Tenor Saxophone
Akeem Marable – Alto Saxophone
Marquinn Mason – Alto Saxophone
Lee King - Lead Trumpet
Dashill Smith – Trumpet
Terence Harper – Trumpet
Melvin Jones – Solo Trumpet
Derrick Jackson – Trombone
Derrick White – Trombone
Tom Gibson – Bass Trombone
“Lil” John Roberts – Drums (left channel)
Terreon “Tank” Gully - Drums (right channel)
Kevin Scott – Bass
Phil Davis – Keyboards
Rod Harris Jr. – Guitar
Ali Barr – Percussion
Dionne Farris – Vocals

Additional Musicians
Rasheeda Ali – Flute
Mamaniji Azanyah – Acoustic Bass
Alex Han – Alto Saxophone

Recorded by Michael Schneck
Mixed and mastered by “Super” Dave Darlington
Additional recording by Phil Davis
Recorded in Atlanta, Georgia

About Russell Gunn

A simple search on the internet for Russell Gunn will yield little result, an unusual occurrence in these days of ubiquitous information. And this is a clue into the man; soft spoken, laid back, happy to reside just outside the spotlight as he immerses himself in a wide variety of musical projects.

Russell Gunn was raised in East St. Louis, Illinois. The relative distance of the city from  other scenes meant that Russell was exposed to new music only when a scene gained national exposure. This broad input informed his playing and composing, and led to his understanding of the full context of a genre. He holds the tradition and an understanding of history in high regard, and counts himself as fortunate to grow up in a time when he could learn from the greats.

‘If you don’t wanna learn Charlie Parker’s language, that’s your business. But you’re missing a foundation piece – it’s like building a house starting on the second floor. It’s all about language, and if don’t have a grasp of the language you are limiting yourself’

Russell Gunn’s schedule speaks of the breadth of his interest – recently he completed a residency at Columbia College in Chicago, spending time teaching, performing, and consulting with students. Then it was off to Belgium to produce an album, then out on the road with Marcus Miller. His credits speak of the same breadth, recording or touring with the likes of Maxwell, Lou Reed, Cee Lo and many more.

Get It How You Live - Digital Cover.png

Get It How You Live

Release Date: July 13, 2018


Executive Producer: Russell Gunn  
Engineer: Mike Schenck
Recorded at the Ray Charles Performing Arts Center at Morehouse College Atlanta, Georgia
Mixed and Mastered by “Super” Dave Darlington at Bass Hit Studios NY

Russell Gunn – producer, conductor, arranger, composer, trumpet
Wes Funderburk – arranger

Trumpets - Curtis Watson, Lee King, Melvin Jones, Daniel Harper, Ali Barr, Darren English

SaxophonesAkeem Marable (A), Brian Hogans (A), Mike Walton (T), Jamel Mitchell (T), Eric Fontaine (B) (alto clarinet), James Robertson (A)

Trombones - Saunders Sermons, Derrick Jackson, Derrick White, Tom Gibson

VocalsDionne Farris, Dashill Smith

Rhythm Section - Che Marshall (Drums), Tabari Lake (Bass), Phil Davis (Keys), Rod Harris Jr. (Guitar), Ali Barr (Percussion)

Featured Soloists
Dionne Farris (vocals) – Fair, Hopeless, Switch Medley, Ballad Of The Sad Young Men
Dashill Smith (vocals) – Intro, The Critic’s Song
Darren English (trumpet) – Intro
Eric Fontaine (alto clarinet) - Intro
Brian Hogans (alto sax) – The Critic’s Song, Fair
Theo Croker (trumpet) – Sybil’s Blues
Phil Davis (keys breath controller) – Fair, Hopeless, Lyne’s Joint
Mike Walton (tenor sax) – The Critic’s Song
Melvin Jones (trumpet) – Lyne’s Joint, Ballad Of The Sad Young Men
Saunders Sermons (trombone) – Sybil’s Blues
Russell Gunn (trumpet) – If I Ever Fall In Love


More About Russell Gunn

2018| Russell Gunn’s new project is The Royal Krunk Jazz Orkestra. A big band based in his current home of Atlanta Georgia, RKJO is a natural mashup of the traditional Jazz Big Band, with Rhythm & Blues and Southern Hip-Hop sensibility. The band played live weekly for over a year, with Gunn providing the vision and inspiration for the band to embrace and follow willingly.  Once the natural language was fully mature, they headed into the studio to record Get It How You Live, their debut album set for release in summer 2018.

‘Get It How You Live is about explaining yourself in an honest way – when you open your mouth it has to be genuine’

The album is big, with all the swagger and power that you’d expect. It leads off with a speaker introducing the band and setting the stage, and once you’re in your chair you have to jump up as the horn section sets the groove with Theo Croker in the front. But that’s just the start – concise and delicate moments are interspersed with guest vocalists Dionne Farris and Dashill Smith. Get It How You Live is easy to listen to, and each time it reveals yet another level of craft – truly a reflection of Russell Gunn’s intent.

“Rich bel canto trumpet teams up with hip shaking R&B on “There’ll Never Be/A Brighter Tomorrow/I Call You Name” and the team gets dreamy on “Ballad of the Sad Young Men.” A band made for dancing shoes.” - Jazz Weekly / George Harris