The Funky Knuckles

© Lydie Nesvadba

© Lydie Nesvadba

The Funky Knuckles belong to a new generation of improvising musicians, challenging the constraints of genre, but never losing sight of the groove. This is not your typical funk band... or jam band... or jazz band. The Funky Knuckles are something different entirely. This is the improvised music of the new generation, and it is continuously being re-defined, even as it is performed.

In recent years, Texas has gained a reputation as a hotbed for groove-oriented improvised music, and The Funky Knuckles have been a part of that movement for over a decade. It is a common occurrence to hear world-class musicians sitting in at their weekly residency in Dallas, and band members can be  seen as sidemen with Janet Jackson, Stanley Clarke, and Larry Carlton.

The Funky Knuckles are releasing their fourth album, “Delicious” in November 2019 on Ropeadope, and will be touring domestically around the release.


Release Date: November 1, 2019

FK Cover.jpg

Evan Weiss
– Trumpet
Ben Bohorquez – Saxophone
Phill Aelony – Guitar
Kwinton Gray – Keyboards
Wes Stephenson – Bass
Cedric Moore – Drums

Recorded at The Echo Lab, Denton Texas; recording engineer: Matt Pence
Mixed by Rick Carson assisted by Connor Murray; Make Believe Studios, Omaha Nebraska
Video Production by Alex Von Kurkendall and Ben Bohorquez
Wes Stephenson plays Trickfish Amps
Cedric Moore plays Liberty Drums, Evans Drum Heads, and Meinl Cymbals
Phill Aelony plays Moollon guitars and 3rd Power amps