Snack Cat


Snack Cat is a NYC based band that features some of the city’s top young musicians. The group's sound is a cross between soul, rock, jazz, blues and funk. Snack Cat has already played many of NYC's top music venues including Rockwood Music Hall, Mercury Lounge, The Falcon, Bryant Park, Groove, C'mon Everybody, and The Knitting Factory. The band consistently plays Sofar Sounds shows around the city as well. Snack Cat's members have played and recorded with some of of the biggest names in music: Roberta Flack, John Mayer, The Zach Brown Band, Grace Potter, Ben Folds, John Patitucci, Jersey Boys, Greg Allman, etc.

Snack Cat’s first official release has been a long time in the making. The band has been refining its sound for a few years now, drawing inspiration from classic funk, soul and rock while never forgetting its jazz roots. Guitarist and bandleader Aleksi Glick wrote most of the music for this debut EP in January 2018 on a rooftop in LA. It was something about the setting of the dirty yet iconic city that got the creative juices flowing - the many dreamers trying to make it big and putting on whatever face or facade got them through the day. While the songs come from a reflective and almost pensive place, they express a certain joy and hopefulness. At its heart, Glick's music is inspired by his hometown of New York City, but for some reason these particular songs needed to come to life and grow elsewhere. Along the way, Glick's old bandmate, Madhava Hansen, and Snack Cat frontwoman, Chantal Mitvalsky, contributed final touches to the songwriting behind the tracks.

The EP was recorded at Flux Studios in NYC's Lower East Side by Tom Beuchal and mixed, mastered and produced in LA by Alvin Wee. Each member of Snack Cat's distinct musical voice adds to the group's classic yet one-of-a-kind sound displayed on this release. Chantal Mitvalsky and Pete Ayres's soulful voices overlay the dynamic rhythm section (Aleksi Glick, Jeff Koch, Nathan Ellman-Bell and Sharik Hasan) with the tight horn section (Seth Weaver and David Engelhard) adding final touches to bring the music to life. 

Snack Cat

Release Date: May 10, 2019

snack_cat_cover_square (1).jpg


Chantal Mitvalsky - Lead Vocals

Pete Ayres - Lead Vocals

Aleksi Glick - Lead Guitar

David Engelhard - Alto Sax

Seth Weaver - Trombone

Jeff Koch - Bass

Nathan Ellman-Bell - Drums

Shark Hasan - Keys on Leaving LA

Christian Nourijanian - Keys on Path and Old Soul

1. Leaving LA / Written by A. Glick, M Mitvalsky, M Hansen

2. Let Go / Written by A. Glick, M Hansen

3. Path / Written by A. Glick

4. Old Soul / Written by A. Glick

Mixed and Produced by Alvin Wee at Amplitone Productions

Recorded at Flux Studios by Tom Beuchel

Album Art- Andrew Neesley

Photos - Ruben Stejin