nate smith

For nearly two decades, Nate Smith has been a key piece in reinvigorating the international jazz scene with his visceral, instinctive, and deep-rooted style of drumming. He holds a diverse and ample résumé — which includes work with esteemed leading lights such as Dave Holland, Chris Potter, José James, John Patitucci, Ravi Coltrane, Somi, and Patricia Barber, among many others. His GRAMMY-nominated debut album, KINFOLK: Postcards from Everywhere, sees Smith fusing his original modern jazz compositions with R&B, pop, and hip-hop. In recent years, through a series of viral videos, he has emerged as one of the most influential and popular pocket/groove drummers of his generation. His videos have been viewed millions of times and have inspired countless musicians and fans.

Now, 2X GRAMMY nominee Nate Smith returns with the release of his first ever solo drumset album Pocket Change. 11 tracks of super deep groove and feel, each composition uses simple grooves as a launching pad, and to develop improvised thematic ideas within groove context to create a storytelling arc.

Recorded in April of 2017 at Bunker Studios, NYC, all of the solos were improvised to click track in odd and even time signatures.

“The idea of the album is to use (seemingly) simple grooves as a launching pad,” Smith says.  “My goal was to develop improvised thematic ideas within groove context to create a storytelling arc.”

This amazing collection of improvised pieces will be released in three formats:

  • COLLECTOR: Exclusive limited edition 128g vinyl LP mixed by Chris Soper and Jesse Singer at LikeMinds, BK NY and mastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound (first pressing pre-order July 23 until August 6 ONLY)
  • CREATOR: Loop Loft/Native Instruments software package complete with .WAV/REX/AIFF files, one shots, loops and MIDI files (Available July 23)
  • LISTENER: Digital download and streaming formats, including iTunes, Bandcamp, Spotify and Apple Music (preorder available July 27)

Pocket Change

Release Date: September 28, 2018


All compositions written & produced by Nate Smith

Recorded by Aaron Nevezie at Bunker Studios April 16, 2017

Mixed by Jesse Singer and Chris Soper at LikeMinds Studios, Brooklyn NY

Mastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound, NYC

Concept & Photography by Laura Hanifin

Layout by John Tymkiw

KINFOLK: Postcards from everywhere

Preverbal Cover option 2.jpg