Laura Taglialatela

Laura Taglialatela is a vocalist, composer and arranger born in the mediterranean city of Naples, Italy. Growing up in a house full of music and art of all kinds, she naturally developed a complex musical personality, which brought her into experiencing many different languages and genres. 

Laura began performing music in church at the age of 10, an experience which consequently drove her interest towards black music. In 2009 she completed her studies in vocal jazz performance  at the Scuola Civica in Capannori, and decided to attend a Bachelor in Literature and Cultural studies at the Suor Orsola Benincasa University of Naples, while taking music private classes with some of today’s most internationally recognized jazz performers. 

She graduated in 2014 presenting a thesis entitled "A unifying language: jazz”, a result of her active researches on the field on the impact of the inter-cultural crossover of the jazz scene on the language currently spoken in America by the new generation through the songwriting process, receiving audience acclaim and extra credits. 

In 2016 Laura won the WinJazz Competition with her composition "Blue Moon". She has performed at multiple Jazz Festivals around the world, and has led her own band internationally including France, Croatia, Italy, Finland, Belgium, UK, US, Russia.

Laura's debut album, The Glow, is the embodiment of a collection of works that shows the definition of an artist in the process of self acknowledgment, and self acceptance, through the struggles that come by the confrontation with real life.

Taglialatela combines original rhapsodies, which represent the development of her emotional course inside of the music alongside with the lyrics, with atypical interpretations of classics, creating a space where boundaries between genres and/or between single individuals cease to exist, and the guiding principle is the flow of a spontaneous and fresh interaction. The album was in fact entirely recorded in two days.

 The brightest light on The Glow is achieved through the trust and love between the band members, in addition to the craft and uniqueness of any single musician: Dayna Stephens on Ewi and Tenor Saxophone, Domenico Sanna on Piano and Rhodes, Matteo Bortone on Bass, Francesco Ciniglio on Drums, plus a very special guest on 4 of the tracks of the album, Logan Richardson on Alto Saxophone.

Featured Musicians:
Laura Taglialatela - Vocals
Dayna Stephens - Tenor Saxophone, Ewi
Logan Richardson - Alto Saxophone (on tracks 5, 6, 8)
Domenico Sanna - Piano, Rhodes, Kalimba
Matteo Bortone - Bass
Francesco Ciniglio - Drums

Songs Credits:
1. The Glow - Music and Lyrics by Laura Taglialatela
2. Take Me Back - Music and Lyrics by Laura Taglialatela
3. Inutil Paisagem - Music by Antônio Carlos Jobim, lyrics by Aloysio De Oliveira
4. Happiness - Music and Lyrics by Laura Taglialatela
5. Retrato Em Branco E Preto - Music by Antônio Carlos Jobim, Lyrics by Chico Buarque
6. Silly Girl - Music and Lyrics by Laura Taglialatela
7. Nefertiti - Music by Wayne Shorter, Lyrics by Laura Taglialatela
8. Frantasy - Music by Francesco Ciniglio, Lyrics by Laura Taglialatela
9. There’s That Smile - Music by Dayna Stephens, Lyrics by Laura Taglialatela

Produced by Laura Taglialatela
Recorded at Groove Farm Studio (Roma, ITALY)
Mixed and Mastered by Luca Bulgarelli


The GLow

Release Date: April 6, 2018